SAVE THE DATE! – CyberMaryland 2014 – October 29-30, 2014 Baltimore Convention Center

The CyberMaryland Conference

Oct 8-9, 2013
Baltimore Convention Center
Baltimore, MD

Hall of Fame Dinner

Cyber Security Hall of Fame logo

On Wednesday, October 9th at the Hilton Baltimore the National Cyber Security Community will induct five new honorees from industry, academia, and government to be named the Second Class of the National Cyber Security Hall of Fame. The National Cyber Security Hall of Fame was established to honor the individuals and organizations with the vision and leadership to create the foundational building blocks for the cybersecurity industry. The Hall of Fame motto, Respect the Past: Protect the Future recognizes the history and contributions of those pioneers, innovators and educators who influenced the industry and laid the foundation for the tens of thousands information security and assurance technologists working at universities, federal agencies and businesses today who stand sentry on tomorrow's cyber security challenges and solutions.

Hilton Baltimore
401 W. Pratt Street
Baltimore, MD 21201

Wednesday, October 9, 2013
Reception: 6pm - 7pm
Dinner 7pm-10pm
Black Tie Optional


Contact with questions regarding the HOF Dinner. Interested in getting more exposure and sponsoring a table at the HOF dinner? Contact

View the video from the 2012 Hall of Fame Dinner.

In announcing the inductees, Mike Jacobs, the first Information Assurance Director for the National Security Agency (NSA) and Chairman of the National Cyber Security Hall of Fame said, "these honorees continue to represent the best and the brightest of our past. These individuals helped define an industry and secure a nation." Of the more than 250 nominations reviewed, the board of advisors named 5 inductees to the 2013 Cyber Security Hall of Fame:

The five honorees for the Class of 2013 are:

  1. Willis H. Ware – Ph.D., Princeton University, 1951. Pioneer in all aspects of computer technology from hardware and software to public policy and legislation; created the first definitive discussion of information system security, as Chair of a Defense Department committee, treating the subject as both a technical matter and policy issue.
  2. James Anderson (posthumously) – Effectively started the field of intrusion detection, invented the concept of the reference monitor and originated the idea of contaminated media and loading an altered OS, the “2-card loader” issue, whose intellectual successors are such things as Stuxnet, and advanced persistent threats (APT) and arguably was the first computer virus.
  3. Eugene Spafford – One of the most recognized leaders in the field of computing and information security. He has an on-going record of accomplishment as a senior advisor and consultant on issues of security and intelligence, education, cybercrime and computing policy to a number of major companies, law enforcement organizations, academic and government agencies. A pioneer in the field of information security education; inventor, with Eugene Kim developed the first free, over the Internet, intrusion detection system – Tripwire; and renowned for first analyzing the “Morris Worm” one of the earliest computer worms.
  4. David Bell – Co-authored the “Bell-La Padula model” (with Leonard J. La Padula), the most widely used security model and the only security model referenced in the Trusted Computer Systems Evaluation Criteria. Extended computer-security principles from the Trusted Computer Systems Evaluation Criteria into other contexts, such as trusted networks and trusted database systems.
  5. James Bidzos – Internet and security industry pioneer; He served as CEO of RSA Data Security from 1986 through 1999. Along with RSA co-founder and MIT professor Ron Rivest, Bidzos built RSA into the premier cryptography company in the 80s and 90s, becoming the early standard bearer for authentication and encryption; founded and continues to lead VeriSign; created the RSA Conference in 1991, and was the Chairman of the event until his retirement from that position in 2004.

To learn more about the Cyber Security Hall of Fame go to:

FBC logo join cybermap national cyber security hall of fame security innovation network TechExpo MDC3 Challenge